I have these incredible vintage (as in victorian era) down pillows that I scored years ago on ebay. Thing is, the fabric being as old as it was, started to come apart and while that was sad, the pillows remain perfectly fine and they don’t make pillows like this anymore. One day, I decided to knit up some pillowcases to protect the pillows and that is how these came about.


Click below to see more pics and get a pithy pseudo pattern.

These were made using three skeins of Lamb’s Pride Bulky and each pillowcase used exactly three skeins (one skein of each – with just the tiniest bit to spare). I knit this in the round using a size 9 circular needle and once it was finished, just sewed the bottom and top seam closed (with the pillow inside of course!).

I cast on 110 stitches and knit one solid row and then followed this chart (starting from the bottom, working up):

After 11 rows, I would knit a solid round of the next background color and switch up the heart colors. I did this because early on I realized I was going to run out of yarn if I kept it all solid one background.

There you have it, now you can make your own! 🙂



